Home

History

Contact Us

Executive

Activities

Coming Events

Entertainment

Links

 

Coming Events

Next Monthly Meeting

Monday, October 1, 2018 – Financial Security for Seniors

12:00 – Lunch in the club room – $2 donation suggested
  1:00 – Club news and business
  1:30 – Presentation by guest speaker Jeanette Brox of Investor Group: Financial Security for Seniors

  • Preserving and managing your life’s savings
  • Planning your estate for distribution after you’re gone
  • Managing the tax burden on your estate
  • Questions and answers

Upcoming Monthly Meetings

Monday, November 5, 2018
Agenda to be announced.

Monday, December 3, 2018
Agenda to be announced.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, October 16, 2018 – Mystery Lunch
All members are invited to lunch at a restaurant to be revealed.
Cost is $10 per member. Please let Yasmin Burt know if you plan to go.
(Note that the lunch was rescheduled from Wednesday to Tuesday.)

Tuesday, October 23, 2018 – TCV Annual General Meeting
All five clubs in the TCV family gather to hear business reports and set directions
for the coming year. Lunch is included; a talk follows the business meeting.

Novotel Hotel (map), Gibson Room
3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto

11:30 – Registration opens
12:30 – Lunch is served
  1:15 – Meeting business
  2:00 – Guest speaker Ted Barris presents The Dam Busters,
    the story of an audacious, risky WWII raid into the heart of Nazi Germany

Click here for more details about this event.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 – Christmas Lunch
We gather for our annual Christmas celebration with good food, good fellowship, and good fun.

Novotel Hotel (map), Gibson Room
3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto

11:30 – Welcome and check-in
12:00 – Lunch is served
  1:00 – Christmas festivites begin

Previous Monthly Meetings 2018

Monday, September 10 – Annual membership renewal; executive elections; plans for the coming year.

July and August – No meetings. Enjoy the summer!

Monday, June 4 – Club Futures and Mandarin Lunch.

Monday, May 7 – Moorelands Baby Bundles – A talk about the Baby Bundles program. We collected items for donation to make bundles for new moms.

Monday, April 9 – Speaker Helen Hawkins – A slide-show travelogue of her adventures in New Zealand.

Monday, March 5 – The What, Why, and How of Heart Pillows

Monday, February 5 – Lunch at the Mandarin Restaurant

Monday Jan. 8 – Guest speaker Jill Hewlett, Brain Fitness Expert and Wellness Author

Previous Events 2018

Wednesday, September 19 – Trip to the Grand River Cruise and the Iroqrafts Shop

Wednesday, August 22 – Trip to the African Lion Safari park

Wednesday, July 4 – Trip to see Come From Away at the Royal Alex theatre

Thursday April 19, 12:00pm – Volunteer Appreciation Lunch at the Pickel Barrel

Previous Monthly Meetings 2017

Monday Dec. 4 – Guest: Salvation Army. Please bring items for babies or teens for the Christmas Toy Drive and treats to share. Lunch will not be provided.

Monday Nov. 6 – Guest speaker Jay Burford. Jay is active with the Royal Canadian Legion. Lunch will be provided with a $2 donation.

Monday Oct. 2 – Guest: Larry Parkes. Topic: Canada 150.

Monday Sep. 11 – TCV Toronto Club Annual Meeting.

Monday May 1 – Topic: Moorelands Baby Bundles Program. Lunch will be provided with a $2 donation.

Monday April 3 – Topic: Vacation photos from Jordan, guest: Helen Hawkins, president of the Fieldway Retirees’ Club. Lunch will be provided with a $2 donation.

Monday March 6 – Topic: Bell Pensioners’ Group. Lunch will be provided with a $2 donation.

Monday February 6 – Meeting and Lunch at the Mandarin, 2200 Yonge Street Toronto, 416 486-2222, 12:00pm.

Monday January 9 – Guest: Talia Khanania, Topic: Elder Care Transitions. Lunch will be provided with a $2 donation.

Other Events 2017

Monday December 11 – ROSE Volunteer Dinner, Location: 16 Concorde Pl. FL9, 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Tuesday November 28 – Christmas Lunch:

Novotel Hotel
Gibson Room
3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto

Thursday June 15 – Thank You Party for President of our Telecommunications Volunteer Club Nancy Spence at 16 Concorde Place - Party Room, 5:00 p.m., in lieu of a gift, donation of $5.00 to ROSE Volunteers will be appreicated.

Friday April 28 – Volunteers Appreciation Lunch at the Pickel Barrel - invited members performed extras for the club.

Friday March 17 – St. Patrick Day lunch at 16 Concorde Pl. FL9, $6.00

2017 Annual General Meeting

The thirteenth annual general meeting:
Novotel Hotel
Gibson Room
3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto
on Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 11:30am

Guest Speaker: Ted Barris - an accomplished author, journalist and broadcaster, topic: "Battle of Vimy Ridge ".

Please click and scroll down to see the photos of last year’s AGM.

Other Events 2016

Monday Dec. 12 – ROSE Volunteer Dinner, Location: 16 Concorde Pl. FL9, 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Tuesday Nov. 29 – Christmas Lunch:

Novotel Hotel
Gibson Room
3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto

To register please contact Nancy Spence at 416-292-5322

Saturday Nov. 4 – Craft Sale at 16 Concorde Pl. FL9, 11:00am - 01:00pm.

Thursday May 12 – The Moorlands Baby Bundles Annual Shower will be at St. James Cathedral.

Thursday Apr. 14 – Volunteers Appreciation Lunch at the Pickel Barrel

Saturday Apr. 9 – Bake Sale & Silent Auction at 16 Concorde Pl. FL9

Thursday Mar. 17 – St. Patrick Day lunch at 16 Concorde Pl. FL9, $6.00

2016 Annual General Meeting

The twelfth annual general meeting at:
Novotel Hotel
Gibson Room
3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto
on Thursday, October 20, 11:30pm

Guest Speaker: R. Brock Godfrey of The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, topic: Fraud Awareness

To register for the Toronto Club please click here or at the TCV Events Site page or contact Nancy Spence at 416-292-5322.

Previous Monthly Meetings 2016

Monday Dec. 5 – Guest: Salvation Army. Please bring items for babies or teens for the Christmas Toy Drive and treats to share. Lunch will not be provided.

Monday Nov. 7 – Topic: The Royal Canadian Legion, Guest: Jay Burford, Lunch will be served.

Monday Oct. 3 – Topic: Grandmothers to Grandmothers Campaign, Lunch will not be served.

Monday Sep. 12 – TCV Toronto Club Annual Meeting, a membership fee of $5.00 will be collected. Members will be able to register to the TCV annual general meeting and Christmas Lunch. Lunch will be served.

Monday May. 2 – Topic: Moorelands Baby Bundles Program, guest: Maureen Lewis, lunch will be provided.

Monday Apr. 4 – Topic: Power of Attorney, guest: Jackie Porter of Carte Financial Services - Lunch will not be served.

Monday Mar. 7 – Topic: Toronto Waste Strategy - Garbage & Recycling, guest: Cathy Raddon. Lunch will be served. Donation of gently used 10" to 18" bears for terminally ill, loss of family or abused children will be appreciated.

Monday Feb. 1 – Information on Metrolinx Eglinton Crosstown LRT, lunch will not be provided.

Monday Jan. 4 – Topic: Long Term Care perspective, guest: Jackie Porter of Carte Financial Services - Lunch will be served.